Special Grand Prix of the Americas: Liv Ullmann, for her exceptional contribution as an actress and as a film director, on the occasion of the presentation of "Kristin Lavransdatter".


Grand Prix of the Americas: "Georgia," directed by Ulu Grosbard.
Special Grand Prix of the Jury: "A Moslem," directed by Vladimir Khotinenko (Russie)
Best director: Xie Fei ("A Mongolian Tale," China); Goran Markovic ("Burlesque Tragedy," Bulgaria-France)
Best Actress: Jennifer Jason Leigh in "Georgia"
Besst Actor: Fabrizio Bentivoglio in "An Ordinary Hero," by Michele Placido (Italy)
Best Screenplay: "Passover Fever", by Shemi Zarhin (Israel)
Best Artistic Contribution (music): "A Mongolian Tale" (music by Tengger)


First Prize: "The End of the World in Four Seasons", by Paul Driessen, (Canada)
Second Prize: "Clocks," by Kristen Winter (Germany)

SPECIAL GRAND PRIX OF THE AMERICAS, awarded in celebration of the centennial of cinema

- to directors Michelangelo Antonioni, Jean-Luc Godard, Carlos Saura, Zhang Yimou

- to actor Gérard Depardieu

- to Walt Disney animators Frank Thomas and Ollie Johnston.

AIR CANADA PEOPLE'S CHOICE AWARD: "No Te Mueras Sin Decirme A Donde Vas" ("Don't Die Without Telling Me Where You're Going"), by Eliseo Subiela (Argentina)

BEST CANADIAN FEDEX FILM AWARD: "L'Enfant d'eau", by Robert MÈnard.

PRIX DE MONTREAL for Best First Fiction Feature in all sections: : "Cross My Heart and Hope to Die" by Marius Holst (Norway) and "Manneken Pis", by Frank Van Passel (Belgium)

ECUMENICAL JURY PRIZE: "Deep River" by Kei Kumai (Japan)

- in the official competition: "Pensionnat Oskar" ("Like It Never Was Before"), by Susanne Bier (Sweden)
- Section Cinema of Tomorrow--New Trends: "Manneken Pis."

Back to the 1995 Montreal Film Festival

Look for Search Tips

Copyright 1994-2008 Film Scouts LLC
Created, produced, and published by Film Scouts LLC
Film Scouts® is a registered trademark of Film Scouts LLC
All rights reserved.

Suggestions? Comments? Fill out our Feedback Form.